The annual Mardi Gras Awards are an opportunity for our Mardi Gras team to honour and thank the extraordinary volunteers and community groups who go above and beyond to help deliver our world-renowned and inspiring festival.

Of course, Mardi Gras is a community organisation made possible by and for the community and we are grateful to everyone involved in making Mardi Gras happen – all who are winners in our eyes.

In these uncertain times, we realise that hosting an Awards event will be impossible over the next few weeks, so rather than delay deserved recognition of all your hard work, the 2020 Mardi Gras Awards winners will be announced online on our website next week. Trophies and certificates will be sent out to the fabulous winners as soon as possible after the announcements.

A message from Mardi Gras Co-Chairs Jesse Matheson and Mel Schwerdt: “Volunteers have always been the backbone of Mardi Gras. They’re the ones working behind the scenes in the workshop, sewing costumers and assisting with bump-in and bump-out. They’re also at the forefront of what we do, providing first aid at our main events, helping people up Parade route or around Fair Day and providing leadership around the board table or on one of our committees.

“The diversity of roles they fill for Mardi Gras, the time they take out of their lives to give back to their community and the level of skills and experience they bring to Mardi Gras is mind blowing! Volunteers are instrumental both throughout the year and in delivering our two-week Mardi Gras festival. These awards formally recognize the outstanding efforts of volunteers in our community and, for some, a lifetime of involvement. We congratulate all the winners and thank them for their efforts!

“In our eyes all volunteers are champions. So if you happen to not win an award this year we want you to know that we recognize and appreciate all of you for committing your time, skills and passion to help us celebrate Mardi Gras and hope you will continue to work with us for many years to come! The show can’t go on without you!”


Congratulations to the nominees in the Volunteer Awards:

Adrian Hinder
Aiden O’Dea
Andrew Endycott
Charlie Steele
Christine Carey
Darren Kelly
Edie Falios
Isaia Akava
Joel McKinnon
Katherine Hudson
Kim Williams
Konstantinos Ziotas
Kylie Brown
Michelle Rayner
Rick Stone
Ron Boyd
Ronald Del Castillo
Sarah Pearce
Sharniya (Rina) J Hind
Ty Owen
Warren Bishop

We are also thrilled to reveal the nominees for our Fair Day and Parade Awards, decided by our Fair Day team and Parade judges. Across the board, we received feedback that the standard of Fair Day stalls and Parade float entries was spectacularly high this year.


Best Standard Stall

Nomos Legal
Service NSW

Best Sports Village Stall

Harbour City Wrestling Inc.
Street Roller Hockey Chix Club

Best Community Stall

Sydney Gaymers
Girl Guides

Fair Day Stall of the Year

Deaf Rainbow
Bear Bar


Best Choreography

Lifesavers With Pride Inc
The Evolution Dancers
Different Strokes Dragon Boat Club

Ron Muncaster Award for Best Costume

The Oz Fag Hags
FLAGCOM and Friends

Best Individual/Small Group

Rainbow Butterfly Gold Coast
Gay Aged Gaps Relationships
Wonder Mama

Best Float Design

Newcastle Pride
Trans Pride Australia
Le Petit Bateau art collective
Trans Pride Australia

Ron Austin Award For Most Fabulous Parade Entry

Trans Pride Australia
Sydney Opera House

Congratulations to all our nominees!

Next week we’ll announce our Volunteer Awards nominees, followed by the grand reveal of all our wonderful winners, including 2020’s Lifetime Achievement Awards winners.