Community Awards 2024

For one last time we gathered to celebrate Our Future… at the 2024 Sydney Mardi Gras Community Awards. It was our chance to recognise the brightest and boldest in our communities who, through their dedication, talent and pride, made the 46th Sydney Mardi Gras Festival a shining success.

Congratulations to the 2024 Sydney Mardi Gras Community Award winners:

Best Choreography
Winner: Different Strokes Dragon Boat Club
Runner Up: The Itty Bitty Titty Committee

Best Satirical and/or Activist Entry
Winner: Order of Perpetual Indulgence
Runner Up: Drag Storytime is not a crime

Best Float Design
Winner: Studio Kink and the Sydney Fetish Community
Runner Up: Architecture with Pride

Best Individual or Small Group
Winner: Total Metamorphisis
Runner Up: Brisbane Gay Gardeners

Ron Muncaster Award for Best Costume
Winner: Emerald City Kickball
Runner Up: Big Thick Energy

Ron Austin Award for Most Fabulous Parade Entry
Winner: DIY Rainbow
Runner Up: The Itty Bitty Titty Committee

Special Commendation
Colours of Our Community
Queer and Gender-Diverse Pole Dancers
Mini Matildas

Spirit of 1978
Winner: Order of Perpetual Indulgence

Excellence in Teamwork
Winners: “JP” John Paul Ciappara & Jan Beattie

Excellence in Leadership
Winners: Rod Dever & Fiona Carter

Excellence in Service
Winners: Karla Burrows & Joel McKinnon

Excellence in Innovation
Winners: Ron Boyd & Peter Cowan

Best Newcomer
Winners: Bea Chew & Teaghan Barrish

Winners: Mihal Guttman-Jones & Ryen Partin

Special Acknlowledgement
Winners: Christian Lush & Jen Rogers

Volunteer of the Year
Winners: David Robinson & Lori Chacko

Special Commendation
Alan O’Riordan, Adrian Hinder, Avalon Carnall, Cass Britt-Brewster, Cain Cooper, Daniela Plata Acosta, Eva Schafroth, Rahul Marwah, Jose Arthur Barbosa Mileo, Lyne Woods, Meredith Nigh, Paul McInerney and Vanessa Britt

C.Moore Hardy
Damian Furlong
Doris Fish (aka Philip Mills) 
Graeme Browning (aka Mitzi Macintosh)
John Bridges
Kevin Golding
Lynne O’Brien
Nick Parker
Rob Patmore
Shane Jenek (aka Courtney Act)
Vicktor Petroff